Saturday, October 23, 2010

Outcome of Ohio YAB Officer Elections

 Madame President

Congratulations to 2011 Ohio YAB Officers:
  • President Cieria Rodriguez-Toney, Lorain County
  • Vice President*
  • Media Spokesperson Dauntea Sledge, Franklin County
  • Treasurer Traci Justice, Athens County
  • Secretary Cheslie Akers, Miami County
  • Parliamentarian Roneshia Finney, Montgomery County
*Vacant: Elections for this position will be held in January.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Seanine Cook, Cuyahoga County Youth Advisory Board: TAGyc

Seanine Cook, an Independent Living caseworker with Cuyahoga County Child and Family Services, was recently awarded 2010 Ohio Child Protection Worker of the Year by the Public Children Services Association of Ohio.

Seanine Cook was also recently awarded the Channel 3 News Today Gold Star:

Along with two Cuyahoga County foster care alumni, Tone Frierson and Romero Smith, Seanine recently participated in the following radio interview:

Sunday, October 3, 2010

2010 CASA Conference

General Session: Overcoming Hurdles in Ohio Youth Advisory Board Panel Discussion
The Overcoming Hurdles in Ohio Youth Advisory Board, created in 2006 by youth for youth, advocates for youth who have experienced out-of-home care.

The Ohio YAB’s recommendations include:
  • Considerations for the courts and CASA/GALs
  • Developing independent living skills, addressing mental health issues of youth in foster care
  • Communication issues between caseworkers, foster parents and parents
  • Sibling concerns
  • Maintaining normalcy while in foster care
This panel of exceptional young adults spoke to the issues that are the greatest concern for youth in foster care, sharing their experiences, strength and hope for the future.